Use Explore Census Data to locate community profiles and statistics data [health, housing, population and socioeconomics] information for New York City neighborhoods
New York City Population Division
The New York City Population Division serves as New York City government's hub of demographic expertise. It is responsible for the compilation, analysis, and dissemination of census and related federal, state, and local data for city agencies, local communities, and the media. Within the department, the Population Division provides data for local and citywide planning studies, environmental review analyses, and capital planning strategies. In addition, the division provides other city agencies with data to address questions of concern involving needs assessment, program planning and targeting, and policy formulation. This includes the development of population estimates and projections for infrastructure and capital planning, such as projections for OneNYC, the long-term sustainability plan for New York City. The division works closely with the Census Bureau in an advisory capacity on the methods of data collection and dissemination for the decennial census and other federal surveys.
New York City Community District Profiles
The New York City Community District Profiles describe New York City’s 59 community districts. The site provides interactive graphics and maps that help illustrate each district’s use of the land and environment, socio-economic and demographic characteristics. It also includes a wealth of data and resources that can be easily downloaded in different formats.
New York City’s 59 community boards were created by local law in 1975, and each represents a community district. Community boards create opportunities for active participation in the political process and provision of services as community needs evolve and reflect New York City’s remarkable diversity. Community districts range in size from less than 900 acres to almost 15,000 acres, and in population from a little more than 50,000 residents to more than 200,00
Statistical Atlas.com provides information about states, cities, local neighborhoods and includes income, education and demographics of each area.
The United States Census Bureau provides census data for the United States.