Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York City Neighborhood Demographics - Online Sources: Print and Reference Sources

The Library's Reference Collection  includes numerous books in print, which provide the history of New York City  neighborhoods and  history of immigration of many ethnic communities.  Please visit the Library and explore  the Reference books with call numbers starting with F128  to F129.   Listed below are some  great examples of the books located in this collection.

The Images of America: New York book Series by multiple authors includes the histories of various ethnic communities, neighborhoods, city boroughs, historical sites and more  (see examples below).   This collection is located in  the Reference section with call numbers  F128  to F129.

Caribbean Americans in New York City, 1895-1975      The Queensboro Bridge    Richmond Hill    Pioneros : Puerto Ricans in New York City, 1896-1948       Italian Americans of Long Island

 

  Bedford-Stuyvesant     South Bronx     New York City's Chinese Community       Gravesend, Brooklyn : Coney Island and Sheepshead Bay      The Financial District's Lost Neighborhood, 1900-1970

The Neighborhoods book series, Encyclopedia of New York City and other NYC books include the histories of neighborhoods  and immigration information (see examples below).   This collection is located in  the Reference section with call numbers  F128  to F129.

The Neighborhoods of Brooklyn      The Encyclopedia of New York City      The Neighborhoods of Queens       The Historical Atlas of New York City, Third Edition : A Visual Celebration of 400 Years of New York City's History              

   Gotham : A History of New York City to 1898     The Bronx: It Was Only Yesterday, 1935-1965 (Life in The Bronx Series)               Greenwich Village And How It Got That Way

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library