Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York City Neighborhood Demographics - Online Sources: Library Databases

Library Databases

                                             Infoshare Online

Use Infoshare Online  to locate New York City Demographics, including Census data, immigration data, statistics for health and socio-economics, NYC neighborhoods and district profiles.

      

                                                  Social Explorer

Use Social Explorer for quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Users may create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demographic and social changes within NYC neighborhoods.
           

Video Tutorials

                                        https://guides.library.ucsc.edu/c.php?g=257321&p=1718844 

                                         https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-BQc4x8FLQ

                                         https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJtnszhWWC0

                              Scholarly Articles and Publications

                  

                Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York

                       Metropolitan New York Library Council

Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York (DCMNY) provides online access to digital collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies located in and around New York City. . The collections include photographs, maps, letters, postcards, manuscripts, scrapbooks, programs from events, catalogues, memorabilia and ephemera, and much.

        

                      Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America provides access to images, text, videos and sounds from across the United states.  It is a great source for local information about New York City neighborhoods.

        

 

                              Museum of the City of New York

The Photographs Collection at the Museum of the City of New York consists of more than 400,000 prints and negatives that document New York City and its inhabitants from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. The Prints collections preserve the visual history of New York before the advent of photography and captures the changing images of the city. 

              

                                              

Citation Formats

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library