Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
La Guardia & Wagner Archives
Primary Source Sets and Resources
Library of Congress Primary Source Sets
Curated by LOC librarians, these sets built by topic and organized alphabetically contain image, document and audio files. All are downloadable and free for the educator to use.
Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
The New York Heritage collections page allows the researcher to view the collection by main topics, time period, or keyword search by collection. Some collections have topics that are easily determined and some are named for their benefactor. Items from New York Heritage have been placed throughout the LibGuide according to their place in history. New York Heritage is a project of the Empire State Library Network.
Digital Collections from New York State Archives
A joint collection of the New York State Archives, New York State Museum & New York State Library, the collection can be browsed by topic or by sub-collection. It is also fully searchable. Depending on the item, the images will vary in ease of use and download quality.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Haudenosaunee Guide for Educators
The Haudenosaunee Guide for Educators is designed to provide a deeper and more integrated understanding of Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) life—past and present. This guide can serve to enrich the New York State–mandated curriculum.
Syllabi & Classroom Tools
NYC Stands with Standing Rock Collective. 2016. “#StandingRockSyllabus.” https://nycstandswithstandingrock.wordpress.com/standingrocksyllabus/.
Native New Yorkers Today
Discussion questions and community member profiles.
Primary Partners Summer Workshops: Jen Hoyer's Slide Deck
Civic Online Reasoning
Beyond the Bubble unlocks the vast digital archive of the Library of Congress to create a new generation of history assessments...
Primary Source Analysis Tool
The Library of Congress Primary Source Analysis Tool is really fantastic for the prompts it includes based on the format of the primary source. First, choose the format, then click on the "?" bubble in the top right of each box. The prompts will guide you through the finer points of analyzing that specific source type.
Analysis Worksheets - Format Specific
From the National Archives Teaching with Documents Project - worksheets are on right sidebar.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library