Note: A second edition has come out in June 2019. A new chapter addresses scholars who are writing from scratch. This edition also includes more targeted exercises and checklists, as well as the latest research on productivity and scholarly writing.
"This book is a wonderful addition to a graduate course on professional writing, to a writers'' group in need of some structure, or even to the lone writer who needs assistance becoming an academic writer." --Chronicle of Higher Education
Publish and Prosper: a strategy guide for students and researchers by Nathaniel M. LambertIntended to help readers succeed in academia by increasing their scholarly productivity, this book provides strategies for getting articles published quickly in reputable research journals. Rather than focusing on the basics of writing about results, this unique guidebook provides tips on how to approach research, maintain motivation, maximize productivity, and overcome common pitfalls so as to become productive scholars. The strategies reviewed will help readers successfully navigate through graduate school, get a good job, receive grants and promotions, and make important contributions to their field.
Revising Your Dissertation: Advice from leading editors by Beth Luey (Editor); Sandford G. Thatcher (Foreword by)The aftermath of graduate school can be particularly trying for those under pressure to publish their dissertations. Written with good cheer and jammed with information, this lively guide offers hard-to-find practical advice on successfully turning a dissertation into a book or journal articles that will appeal to publishers and readers. It will help prospective authors master writing and revision skills, better understand the publishing process, and increase their chances of getting their work into print. This edition features new tips and planning tables to facilitate project scheduling, and a new foreword by Sandford G. Thatcher, Director of Penn State University Press.
The Craft of Research (4th ed.) by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGeraldWith more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
Call Number: ebook--click on title
Publication Date: 2016
First Steps in Journal Article Writing by J. G. (Kobus) Maree (Editor)This concise and practical volume guides the reader through the process of article writing for submission to scholarly journals. It provides helpful examples and clarification of the steps involved and will prove to be an invaluable resource for both novice and experienced researchers. Chapters include selecting a topic, proposal design, research design and methodological considerations, submitting an article for publication and the role of critical readers.
Call Number: Stacks Z286 .S37 F57 2012
Publication Date: 2013
The Workplace Writer's Process: A guide to getting the job done by Anne JanzerIf writing is any part of your job, you owe it to yourself to figure out how to get it done consistently, efficiently, and successfully. This book covers the business communication skills no one teaches you in writing class: What the "curse of knowledge" is and how to avoid it How to streamline collaboration with simple checklists Why the style guide is your friend, and how to create one for your business The most efficient way to approach revision How to set up review and approval processes for success Use the practical strategies in this book to finish more projects in less time, creating content that serves your business and advances your career.
Call Number: Stacks HF5718.3 .J36 2017
Publication Date: 2017
General Books on Academic Writing (Other CUNY Libraries)
How to get books from other CUNY libraries via the university's CLICS system
Write No Matter What: Advice for Academics by Joli JensenWith growing academic responsibilities, family commitments, and inboxes, scholars are struggling to fulfill their writing goals. A finished book--or even steady journal articles--may seem like an impossible dream. But, as Joli Jensen proves, it really is possible to write happily and productively in academe. Jensen begins by busting the myth that universities are supportive writing environments. She points out that academia, an arena dedicated to scholarship, offers pressures that actually prevent scholarly writing. She shows how to acknowledge these less-than-ideal conditions, and how to keep these circumstances from draining writing time and energy. Jensen introduces tools and techniques that encourage frequent, low-stress writing. She points out common ways writers stall and offers workarounds that maintain productivity. Her focus is not on content, but on how to overcome whatever stands in the way of academic writing. Write No Matter What draws on popular and scholarly insights into the writing process and stems from Jensen's experience designing and directing a faculty writing program. With more than three decades as an academic writer, Jensen knows what really helps and hinders the scholarly writing process for scholars in the humanities, social sciences,and sciences. Cut down the academic sword of Damocles, Jensen advises. Learn how to write often and effectively, without pressure or shame. With her encouragement, writers of all levels will find ways to create the writing support they need and deserve.
Becoming an Academic Writer: 50 exercises for paced, productive, and powerful writing by Patricia GoodsonBecoming an Academic Writer helps you gain control over writing and publishing, master specific aspects of academic writing, and improve your productivity. Patricia Goodson's book offers weekly exercises and tools to achieve these goals. The exercises are grounded in a theoretically-sound and empirically-based mode comprising a set of behavioural principles (e.g., writing regularly, separating generating from editing) and specific practices (weekly exercises) which ensure success. Based on the work of writing theoretician Peter Elbow, the empirical research done by Robert Boice (and others) on writing productivity of college professors, and the research into the practice patterns of elite performers (such as Olympic athletes), the principles and practices have been developed and tested over time. Inside you'll find: Exercises tailored to specific segments of academic papers and reports Tips for ESL Writers boxes, providing additional support. This book uniquely combines these successful principles with a set of original exercises applicable to the writing needs of academics as well as students.
Do you need to publish? Are you writing by yourself? Why go it alone? Get the help you need in The Literacy Brokers' Writing Circle, where faculty share their experiences writing for publication. Contact Maria Jerskey at email@example.com or ext. 5358.
The Book Completion Award, sponsored by the CUNY Office of Research, provides funding to faculty in the arts, humanities and social sciences who are developing or completing a book manuscript for publication.
The Faculty Fellowship Publication Program (FFPP) assists full-time untenured CUNY Assistant Professors in the design and execution of writing projects essential to progress toward tenure through discipline-based writing groups and guidance of a senior faculty member.
Scientific Writing and Communication by Angelika HofmannScientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Second Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and to master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook beginswith a discussion of the basics of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes and to preparing academic presentations and posters. It is ideal for a wide range of readers - from upper-level undergraduates and graduate students to postdoctoral fellows, faculty, and professional researchers in the life sciences, medicine, psychology, chemistry, physics, and engineering.
Call Number: Reference Q223 .H63 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Writing a Biomedical Research Paper by Brian BudgellAll of us in biomedicine understand the urgency of getting experimental results into print as quickly as possible. Yet this critical step in the cascade from research conception to publication receives almost no attention in our formal training. It is as if we have been put to sea without a compass. Our collective failure to achieve widespread literacy in our own language - Biomedical Language - seriously impedes the important process of d- seminating new biomedical knowledge and thereby improving the human condition. It is also a significant personal concern for researchers and clinicians in the highly competitive, publish-or-perish environment of c- temporary academia. Of course, if we are clever or lucky enough to come up with that Nobel Prize-winning discovery, great science will carry the day and we are likely to get published even if our writing is fairly horrid. But most of us who publish are "bread-and-butter" scientists. We compete for space in journals which may only accept 10% or 20% of the submissions that they receive each year. For us, convincing, engaging writing will make the difference between being published or rejected, or at least it will make the difference between being published on ? rst submission or having to go through a number of revisions (or journals). None of this is to propose that good writing can make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Scienti? c content is the sine qua non of biomedical writing.
Call Number: ebook--click on title
Publication Date: 2008
Professional Writing for the Human Services by Linda Beebe (Editor); Ann Hartman (Introduction by)PROFESSIONAL WRITING FOR THE HUMAN SERVICES is edited by Linda Beebe (Associate Executive Director of Communications at the National Association of Social Workers) & features an introduction by Ann Hartman. The book was written especially for social workers, administrators, clinicians, students, researchers, & other human service professionals who write case records, reports, testimony statements, & other written communications, as well as journal articles & books. The book is divided into three parts: Preparation for Writing, Preparation for Publication, & the NASW Quick Guide to Mechanics. Chapters cover writing techniques, literature searches, quantitative & qualitative research reports, presentation of graphics, the peer review process, journal submissions, book proposals, production techniques, copyright concerns, & more. Authors who are interested in being published will learn how to package their material. The mechanics section gives guidelines on punctuation, tables & figures, statistics, unbiased language, & more. The section also contains information on author-date citation styles. Appendixes include sample contracts, a listing of major journal publishers, a reference library for authors, & NASW Press policies & details for submission to NASW journals & the book program. Invaluable to all professionals from all human services fields who wish to be published.
Call Number: Stacks HV 41 .P759 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Successful Grant Writing: strategies for health and human service professionals by Laura N. Gitlin; Kevin J. LyonsThis fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including community-based participatory research, mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, and dissertation and, mentorship proposals. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-by-step process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions
Nurse Author & Editor is a quarterly, open access journal dedicated to publishing high-quality, current, and informative articles on scholarly writing and publishing in the nursing literature.
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: how to write a successful NIH grant application by Otto O. YangGuide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant, 2nd edition is a fully updated follow-up to the popular original. It is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
Call Number: ebook--click on title
Publication Date: 2012
Tricks of the Trade: how to think about your research while you're doing it by Howard S. BeckerDrawing on more than four decades of experience as a researcher and teacher, Howard Becker now brings to students and researchers the many valuable techniques he has learned. Tricks of the Trade will help students learn how to think about research projects in the Social Sciences. Assisted by Becker's sage advice, students can make better sense of their research and simultaneously generate fresh ideas on where to look next for new data.
How to Write History That People Want to Read by A. Curthoys; A. McGrathDrawn from decades of experience, this is a concise and highly practical guide to writing history. Aimed at all kinds of people who write history academic historians, public historians, professional historians, family historians and students of all levels the book includes a wide range of examples from many genres and styles.