Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Where to start?
Are you looking for open access alternatives to your textbook? See the "where to find OERs" list below to start, or start with these
Image by : Opensource.com
Video: Open Access Explained!
The Open Movement
Our current system for communicating research uses a print-based model in the digital age. The results of many research projects are largely hidden behind paywalls by legacy publishers and restrict access to a small fraction of users, locking out most of the world’s population and preventing the use of new research techniques.
In response to the aforementioned restrictions, Open Access
- is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles combined with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment.
- fully utilizes the Internet for what it was originally built to do—accelerate research.
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that are free of cost and access barrier and carry legal permission for open use. OER are in active development across CUNY. They leverage the internet to make education more affordable, accessible, and effective. Check out CUNY's guide to learn where you can find OER to use in your classes and learn more about open education.
OER Authoring Tools
If you want to create your own OER, here's a list comparing several OER platforms for cost, licensing issues, and more.
OER in Tenure and Promotion
From Driving OER Sustainability for Student Success (DOERS3). They have developed a matrix to help guide faculty as they attempt to include their OER work in their tenure and promotion portfolios.
Disciplinary OER Collections
Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students.
Writing Commons contains 800+ original articles on subjects of interest to producers and consumers of texts in school, home, and workplace settings.
Open RN initiative
Starting in Fall 2020, peer-reviewed nursing textbooks and associated virtual reality scenarios will be available free online and able to be adapted or remixed for use by other programs (the original textbooks will be based on Wisconsin state standards for nursing education).
Virtual Lab & Science Resource Directory
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified.
OER by Discipline
Lists of sources of academic discipline-specific OER. (Lists maintained by Lehman College Library)
CUNY Academic Works
The Open Educational Resources series collects instructional materials -- from textbooks to syllabi -- created by the CUNY community.
Internet Archive Scholar
Internet Archive Scholar indexes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive spanning from the eighteenth century to the present. It includes content from the natural sciences, humanities, biomedicine, art, history, industrial research, government reports, and more.
Mason OER Metafinder
Simultaneously searches 16 of the most trustworthy and popular OER repostories.
Milne Open Textbooks
A catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
Curated collection of digital resources and community hubs; from nonprofit ISKME
OpenEd CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources. Join a network of CUNY educators who are dedicated to using high quality, openly-licensed educational resources.
Open Educational Resources and Zero-Cost Learning: Find Publicly Available Research
CUNY's updated list of many more sources for free, online materials for teaching and research.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 73 different sources and contains 171,366 records (as of Nov. 27, 2018).
Free and open textbook alternatives and courseware tools, from Rice University
Open Textbooks and OER collections
Lists of sources for open textbooks and for collections of open educational resources. (Lists maintained by Lehman College Library)
Rebus - Open Textbooks In Development
From Rebus Foundation, a Canadian nonprofit. Also has lots of open textbook creation tools, video, and a hosting platform. See: https://about.rebus.community
TOME (Towards an Open Monograph Ecosystem)
TOME - more about participating institutions: https://www.openmonographs.org/resource/
Curated OER Collections at LaGuardia
Learning Matters Assignment Library
A college-wide effort at building the higher-order thinking capacities students need for 21st century success, The Learning Matters Assignment Library contains examples of assignments that model ways to address our Core Competencies and Communication Abilities. Contributions to the Library emerged from CTL seminars, Learning Matters Mini-Grants, and departmental assignment development workshops. Assignments from a wide range of disciplines are included. Assignments that complete the submission process and are selected count as a college contribution.
Please contact Ece Aykol (English) at firstname.lastname@example.org regarding the submission process.
First Year Seminar Curricular Resources
The First Year Seminar Curricular Resources collection includes assignments from a range of academic disciplines that support and strengthen first-semester student learning. Please contact Christine Marks (English) at email@example.com or Ellen Quish (Center for Teaching and Learning) at Equish@lagcc.cuny.edu.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library