Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Resources: Articles/Videos: Most Topics

Nursing (and other allied health) students will find the resources in this guide helpful for investigating and/or researching topics and issues in the field of nursing.

Databases Containing Articles and Videos on General Allied Health Issues

Wiley Online Library Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals
CINAHL Complete The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied health journals is a classic and comprehensive database offering full text access to many journals. Other features include : evidence based care sheets, quick lesson and test preparation articles. It indexes selected books and 750 journals published from 1937- present.
Health Reference Center Academic Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, and more.
MedlinePlus Includes authoritative consumer and professional health and medical information, drug information and a medical dictionary. Contains overviews of health and care issues, tutorials and clinical trial information. A service of NIH and NLM.
Health and Society in Video Defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. Contains hundreds of documentaries, reports, and interviews.
Science Direct Provides abstract and full-text access to over 2500 journals from several publishers. Contains over 800 journal titles focused on the health sciences professions. Nearly 4 million full-text articles from 1995 to present

 

Databases Containing Articles and Videos on Psychological, Psychiatric, Mental Health Issues

DSM-5 -- Diagnostic and Statitical Manual of Mental Discorders Online access to the classic DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Also includes older editions.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
PsychARTICLES From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals. (1894-present) (100% Full Text)
PsychINFO From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals. (1894-present) (100% Full Text)
Science Direct Provides abstract and full-text access to over 2500 journals from several publishers. Contains over 195 journal titles focused on psychology and another 800 journals focused on the health sciences professions. Nearly 4 million full-text articles from 1995 to present.

 

Databases Containing Articles on Cultural and Client-Population Issues

Black Thought and Culture Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. 
LGBT Life with Full Text Contains all of the content from the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than full-text monographs and books.
Project Muse A collection of 400 scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines including: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Can be cross-searched with JSTOR. (1990s-present) (100% full-text)
Social Sciences Full Text Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. (Indexing 1983-, Abstracting 1984- and "select" Full Text 1994-present).
Wiley Online Library Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Contains approximately 285 publications focused on cultural studies. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.

 

Databases Containing Articles and Video to Get Background Information on Any Topic

American Video Online: Premium Delivers key video that touches on on topics across a wide range of subject areas and field of study. Contains more than 50,000 full video titles (not just clips) and currently offers well over 9,000 hours of content.
CQ Researcher Reports on issues in the news published by Congressional Quarterly. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly (1991-present).
Gale Virtual General Reference Collection Database that gives access to over 7,000 subject/topic specific encyclopedias across 18 subject areas (fields of study).
LexisNexis Academic Full-text access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.
Academic Search Complete This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 publications, including more than 7,300 scholarly journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Some content goes back as far as 1887. Highly recommended for all academic subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context A one-stop source for information on today's most controversial and talked about social issues. This database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites -- 100% Full Text.

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library