Phi Theta Kappa/Alpha Theta Phi - Honors in Action: 2024-2025

Library resource list for Play Studies  (from a 2019 issue of the journal Choice) 

Recommended resources from HIA Guide:

• Branch, T. (2011). The cartel: Inside the rise and imminent fall of the NCAA. Byliner. [Interview with author]

• Foer, F. (2006). How soccer explains the world: An unlikely theory of globalization. Harper Perennial. - Request book from CUNY Libraries

• Fourie, L., Els, C., & de Beer, L. T. (2020). A play at work intervention: What are the benefits? South African Journal of Economic and Management Sciences, 23(1), 1-11. https://www.researchgate.net/ publication/341698763

• Ginsburg, K. R., Committee on Communications, & Committee on Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health (2007). The importance of play in promoting healthy child development and maintaining strong parent-child bonds. Pediatrics, 119(1), 182-191. https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2006- 2697 

A few more recommended readings:

• Buckley, P., & Lee, P. (2021). The impact of extra-curricular activity on the student experience. Active Learning in Higher Education, 22(1), 37-48. https://doi.org/10.1177/1469787418808988
• Chang, June., “Student Involvement in the Community College: A Look at the Diversity and Value of Student Activities and Programs: (2002). https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED470922.pdf.  
• Christison. (2013). The Benefits of Participating in Extracurricular Activities. BU Journal of Graduate Studies in Education, 5(2), 17.
• Elliott, Jacquelyn R., "The Relationship of Involvement in Co-Curricular Programs on Community College Student Success and Development" (2009). Public Access Theses and Dissertations from the College of Education and Human Sciences. 44. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/cehsdiss/44.
• Harb, Khliefat, A., Alzghoul, Y. A., Fowler, D., Sarhan, N., & Eyoun, K. (2021). Cultural exploration as an antecedent of students’ intention to attend university events: an extension of the theory of reasoned action. Journal of Marketing for Higher Education, ahead-of-print(ahead-of-print), 1–23. https://doi.org/10.1080/08841241.2021.1958125
• Kerrigan, & Manktelow, A. (2021). Extra-curricular activities in higher education: enhancing the student experience. Widening Participation and Lifelong Learning, 23(1), 123–147. https://doi.org/10.5456/WPLL.23.1.123
• Kroeper, & Murphy, M. C. (2018). Supporting College and Career Readiness through Social Psychological Interventions. In Preparing Students for College and Careers (1st ed., pp. 142–152). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315621975-13
• Nguyen, Christine P. (2011). Challenges of Student Engagement in Community Colleges. The Vermont Connection, 32, 58-66/
• Solanki, Fitzpatrick, D., Jones, M. R., & Lee, H. (2020). Social-psychological interventions in college: A meta-analysis of effects on academic outcomes and heterogeneity by study context and treated population. Educational Research Review, 31, 100359–. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.edurev.2020.100359
•  

Library resource list for Play Studies  (from a 2019 issue of the journal Choice) 

Recommended resources from HIA Guide:

• Ferguson, S. (2019). Race, gender, sexuality, and social class: Dimensions of inequality and identity. Sage Publications. This book described how social statuses shape our experiences and impact our life chances. The author described how race, class, gender, and sexuality intersect with one another to produce social inequalities and form the bases of our identities in society. BOOK available @LaGuardia CC LIbrary 
• Hyde, E., Omura, J., Fulton, J., Lee, S., Piercy, K., & Carlson, S. (2020). Disparities in youth sports participation in the U.S., 2017-2018. American Journal of Preventative Medicine, 59(5), 207-210. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.amepre.2020.05.011 This study provided national estimates of U.S. youth aged 6–17 years who participated in sports and examined the differences in participation by demographic characteristics. ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Chappetta, K. C., & Barth, J. M. (2020). Gaming roles versus gender roles in online gameplay. Information, Communication & Society. https://doi.org/10.1080/1 369118X.2020.1764608 Using social role theory and role congruity theory as theoretical frameworks, the authors proposed that attitudes and beliefs related to traditional gender roles account for differences in the way that games are played and experienced by women compared to men. ARTICLE (pre-pub version) online
• Lai, & Low, C.-T. (2019). Provision of Convenient Play Space in a Densely Populated City. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 16(4), 651–. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph16040651 - ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Manning, A., & Hartmann, D. (2016). Kids of color in the American sporting landscape: Limited, concentrated, and controlled. In Messner, M., & Musto, M. (Eds). Child’s Play, 43-60. https://doi. org/10.36019/9780813571478  Manning and Hartmann argued that while opportunities for fun, fitness, socialization, development, and mobility in and through sports exist for American children of color, they also faced challenges of access and issues of treatment that are unique, uneven, and unequal.- BOOK can be requested
• Zeigler, C. (2016). Fair play: How LGBT athletes are claiming their rightful place in sports. Edge of Sports. This book provided a discussion of the advancements that LGBTQ athletes have made in sports, and how current developments will impact LGBTQ athletes in the future. E-BOOK online via LaGuardia CC Library databases

More recommended library research sources:

• Bennet, Yiannakoulias, N., Williams, A. M., & Kitchen, P. (2012). Playground Accessibility and Neighbourhood Social Interaction Among Parents. Social Indicators Research, 108(2), 199–213. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11205-012-0062-4 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Brennan, Blanchard, S., Scharn, B., Milbert, K., & Samuelson, S. (2016). The Need for Accessibility in Playgrounds for Children With Disabilities. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 70(4_Supplement_1), 7011505165–7011505165p1. https://doi.org/10.5014/ajot.2016.70S1-PO6020 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Holt, & Beckett, A. (2017). Designing Out the Play: Accessibility and Playfulness in Inclusive Play. Studies in Health Technology and Informatics, 242, 291–297. ARTICLE ONLINE
• Moore, & Lynch, H. (2015). Accessibility and usability of playground environments for children under 12: A scoping review. Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy, 22(5), 331–344. https://doi.org/10.3109/11038128.2015.1049549 - ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Perry, Devan, H., Fitzgerald, H., Han, K., Liu, L.-T., & Rouse, J. (2018). Accessibility and usability of parks and playgrounds. Disability and Health Journal, 11(2), 221–229. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dhjo.2017.08.011 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
• Peter, & Sherratt, D. (2002). Developing Play and Drama in Children with Autistic Spectrum Disorders. David Fulton Publishers. E-BOOK via LaGuardia CC Library
• Rigolon, & Flohr, T. L. (2014). Access to Parks for Youth as an Environmental Justice Issue: Access Inequalities and Possible Solutions. Buildings (Basel), 4(2), 69–94. https://doi.org/10.3390/buildings4020069 -- ONLINE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
•  

Discover More  About Preserving Stories

• Kaufman, N. (2009). Place, race, and story: Essays on the past and future of historic preservation. Routledge. [Library e-book online]
• Lutt es, W. G. (2002). Storytelling in collaborative work: The challenge of preserving sensitive interactions. ACM SigGroup Bulletin, 23(2), 22-23. https:// doi.org/10.1145/962185.962194 [Ask Ann for access to this one.]
• Maggi, A. (2015). Preserving the spell: Basile’s The Tale of Tales and its afterlife in the fairy-tale tradition. University of Chicago Press. https:// doi.org/10.7208/9780226243016
• Smith, A. Reitsma, L. van den Hoven, E., Kotze, P. & Coetzee, L. (2011). Towards preserving indigenous oral stories using tangible objects. Second International Conference on Culture and Computing, Kyoto, Japan, 2011, 86-91. doi: 10.1109/CultureComputing.2011.24

From the HIA Guide:

• Bjørkvold, J. R. (2005). W. H. (Halvorsen, W. H., Trans). The muse within: Creativity and communication, song and play from childhood through maturity. Peer Gynt Press. Bjørkvold located the human capacity for creativity in expressions of play. He challenged current educational practices that focus on rules in support of spontaneous activities that allow humans from childhood through adulthood to access the music within more freely. [Request from CUNY Libraries] [See here for more ideas.]
• Crawford, G., & Hancock, D. (2019). Cosplay and the art of play: Exploring sub-culture through art. Palgrave Macmillan. Crawford and Hancock provided a study of Cosplay culture as a contemporary urban subculture and expanded our understanding of play. The authors used “play” as their research methodology to introduce readers to the art expressed through designing costumes, identities, and performances. [See here for more library sources on cosplay]
• Elliott, D., Silverman, M., & Bowman, W. (Eds.). (2016). Artistic citizenship: Artistry, social responsibility, and ethical praxis. Oxford University Press. Elliott et al. examined how artists and art educators can use play and the arts to transform individuals and societies through the positive contributions that they provide. [Request from CUNY Libraries] [See here for more ideas.]
• Liboriussen, B. (2013). Craft, creativity, computer games: The fusion of play and material consciousness. Philosophy & Technology, 26(3), 273-282. Liboriussen hypothesized that the playing of video games is more than just play–that it is an extension of culture and craftsmanship and contributes to our well-being.
• Riede, F., Johanse, N., Hogberg, A., Nowell, A., & Lombard, M. (2018). The role of play objects and object play in human cognitive evolution and innovation. Evolutionary Anthropology: Issues, 27(1), 46-59. https://doi.org/10.1002/evan.21555 Riede et al. examined the role of object play and the materials of play in human evolution. They address the role of innovative play in cultural development.

• Altenmüller-Lewis, U. (2017). Designing schools for students on the spectrum. The Design Journal, 20(sup1), S2215-S2229. DOI: 10.1080/14606925.2017.1352738 Altenmüller-Lewis explored current research on designing educational spaces for learners across the autism spectrum. ONLINE