Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Theme 3: Systems of Play (2022-2023)
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society - Alpha Theta Phi @ LaGuardia Community College
Where do we start?
Step 1: Think about your topic! What questions are you trying to answer?
Step 2: List terms that best represent the main concepts of your topic.
- relevant to topic or assignment
If nothing comes to mind, it is time to do some background research!
What are our learning outcomes?
PTK Honors in Action Project - Learning Outcomes
- Demonstrate undergraduate research fundamentals by identifying sources, appraising their credibility, and formulating conclusions based on evidence.
- Demonstrate critical thinking and reflective skills throughout the research process.
- To learn more about Honors in Action, enroll in the PTK Research Edge online tutorial.
Recommended Resources from the Honors Program Guide - 2022-2023
Library resource list for Play Studies (from a 2019 issue of the journal Choice)
Recommended resources from HIA Guide:
- Ferguson, S. (2019). Race, gender, sexuality, and social class: Dimensions of inequality and identity. Sage Publications. This book described how social statuses shape our experiences and impact our life chances. The author described how race, class, gender, and sexuality intersect with one another to produce social inequalities and form the bases of our identities in society. BOOK available @LaGuardia CC LIbrary
- Hyde, E., Omura, J., Fulton, J., Lee, S., Piercy, K., & Carlson, S. (2020). Disparities in youth sports participation in the U.S., 2017-2018. American Journal of Preventative Medicine, 59(5), 207-210. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.amepre.2020.05.011 This study provided national estimates of U.S. youth aged 6–17 years who participated in sports and examined the differences in participation by demographic characteristics. ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Chappetta, K. C., & Barth, J. M. (2020). Gaming roles versus gender roles in online gameplay. Information, Communication & Society. https://doi.org/10.1080/1 369118X.2020.1764608 Using social role theory and role congruity theory as theoretical frameworks, the authors proposed that attitudes and beliefs related to traditional gender roles account for differences in the way that games are played and experienced by women compared to men. ARTICLE (pre-pub version) online
- Lai, & Low, C.-T. (2019). Provision of Convenient Play Space in a Densely Populated City. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 16(4), 651–. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph16040651 - ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Manning, A., & Hartmann, D. (2016). Kids of color in the American sporting landscape: Limited, concentrated, and controlled. In Messner, M., & Musto, M. (Eds). Child’s Play, 43-60. https://doi. org/10.36019/9780813571478 Manning and Hartmann argued that while opportunities for fun, fitness, socialization, development, and mobility in and through sports exist for American children of color, they also faced challenges of access and issues of treatment that are unique, uneven, and unequal.- BOOK can be requested
- Zeigler, C. (2016). Fair play: How LGBT athletes are claiming their rightful place in sports. Edge of Sports. This book provided a discussion of the advancements that LGBTQ athletes have made in sports, and how current developments will impact LGBTQ athletes in the future. E-BOOK online via LaGuardia CC Library databases
More recommended library research sources:
- Bennet, Yiannakoulias, N., Williams, A. M., & Kitchen, P. (2012). Playground Accessibility and Neighbourhood Social Interaction Among Parents. Social Indicators Research, 108(2), 199–213. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11205-012-0062-4 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Brennan, Blanchard, S., Scharn, B., Milbert, K., & Samuelson, S. (2016). The Need for Accessibility in Playgrounds for Children With Disabilities. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 70(4_Supplement_1), 7011505165–7011505165p1. https://doi.org/10.5014/ajot.2016.70S1-PO6020 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Holt, & Beckett, A. (2017). Designing Out the Play: Accessibility and Playfulness in Inclusive Play. Studies in Health Technology and Informatics, 242, 291–297. ARTICLE ONLINE
- Moore, & Lynch, H. (2015). Accessibility and usability of playground environments for children under 12: A scoping review. Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy, 22(5), 331–344. https://doi.org/10.3109/11038128.2015.1049549 - ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Perry, Devan, H., Fitzgerald, H., Han, K., Liu, L.-T., & Rouse, J. (2018). Accessibility and usability of parks and playgrounds. Disability and Health Journal, 11(2), 221–229. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dhjo.2017.08.011 -- ARTICLE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Peter, & Sherratt, D. (2002). Developing Play and Drama in Children with Autistic Spectrum Disorders. David Fulton Publishers. E-BOOK via LaGuardia CC Library
- Rigolon, & Flohr, T. L. (2014). Access to Parks for Youth as an Environmental Justice Issue: Access Inequalities and Possible Solutions. Buildings (Basel), 4(2), 69–94. https://doi.org/10.3390/buildings4020069 -- ONLINE via LaGuardia CC Library databases
- Altenmüller-Lewis, U. (2017). Designing schools for students on the spectrum. The Design Journal, 20(sup1), S2215-S2229. DOI: 10.1080/14606925.2017.1352738 Altenmüller-Lewis explored current research on designing educational spaces for learners across the autism spectrum. ONLINE
Honors in Action event 2022
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library